Start    -    Welcome    -    History    -    Publications    -    Family Stories    -   Family Tree   -   Weblinks    -    Sitemap   -   Members Only
 
  
  
 
Who was Joséphine de Beauharnais?
 
   


click on picture
to enlarge
Josephine was Napoleon's first wife. One year before getting married to the Empereur she travelled to Hamburg to meet the Banquiers MM. Matthiessen et Sillem as documented in her estate. She stayed in the city from October 25th to 30th, 1795. The reason? A few hints from the biography cited below make the guess easy. The future Empress lived a lavish life in the Parisian society and suffered from a permanent lack of adequate means. Why she undertook the cumbersome journey to Hamburg of all places the prolific novelist Louise Mühlbach tells us in the chapter quoted below. The gentleman Joséphine was to meet was Conrad Matthiessen, son of the company's founder Hieronymus Matthiessen. Conrad's sister Marie Louise was married to Garlieb Helwig Sillem whom Hieronymus had made a partner in his major company. At the time Joséphine de Beauharnais visited the banking company Garlieb Helwig's son Hieronymus Sillem (also known as Jerôme) and Conrad Matthiessen headed the company. While Hiernomyus was a full-blooded merchant and banker Conrad devoted his time more to an interest in the arts and in politics. Later he resigned from the partnership and spent his later years as a benefactor in Paris.

 

Joséphine in Hamburg

From the novel "The Empress Josephine" by Louise Mühlbach (1814-1873) 
   
She first, by the advice of M. Emery, undertook a journey to Hamburg, to make some arrangements with the rich and highly respectable banking-house of Matthiessen and Sillem. Conrad  Matthiessen, son of the founder Hieronymus M., who had married a niece of Madame de Genlis, had always shown the greatest hospitality to all Frenchmen  who had applied to him, and he had  assisted them with advice and deeds. To him Josephine appealed, at the request of M. Emery, so as to procure a safe opportunity to send letters to her mother in Martinique, and also to obtain from him funds on bills drawn upon her mother.
 
M. Matthiessen met her wishes with a generous pleasure, and through him Josephine received sufficient sums of money to protect her from further embarrassments and anxieties, at least until her mother, who was on the eve of selling a portion of her plantation, could send her some money.
 
On her return from her business-journey to Hamburg, as she was no longer a poor widow without means, she adopted the courageous resolution of leaving her asylum and returning to dangerous and deserted Paris, there to prepare for her son an honorable future, and endeavor to procure for her daughter an education suited to her rank and capacities.

(Source)





About Joséphine de Beauharnais (Wikipedia)

 


©  Copyright 2012  Martin Sillem  -  Last update: 30 October 2007

Start    -    Willkommen    -    Historie    -    Literatur    -   Familiengeschichten    -   Stammbaum   -   Weblinks   -   Inhalt (Sitemap)
 
 
  
 
Wer war Joséphine de Beauharnais?
 
     


zum Vergrößern
auf das Bild clicken
Joséphine war Napoleons erste Gattin. Ein Jahr vor ihrer Hochzeit mit dem Empereur reiste sie zu den Banquiers MM. Matthiessen et Sillem nach Hamburg, wie aus ihrem Nachlass zu erfahren ist. Sie blieb vom 25. bis 30. Oktober 1795 in der Stadt. Der Anlass? Aus ein paar Hinweisen der folgenden Lebensbeschreibung lässt sich ihr Anliegen leicht erraten. Die spätere Kaiserin führte ein verschwenderisches Leben in der Pariser Gesellschaft und litt daher unter ständigem Geldmangel. Warum sie ausgerechnet die beschwerliche Reise nach Hamburg unternahm, um ihre leere Kasse wieder aufzufüllen, verrät uns die Roman-Schriftstellerin Louise Mühlbach in dem folgenden Beitrag. Joséphines Ansprechpartner hieß  Conrad Matthiessen, Sohn des Firmengründers Hieronymus Mathiessen. Conrads Schwester Marie Louise war mit Garlieb Helwig Sillem verheiratet, den Hieronymus als Partner in sein bedeutendes Unternehmen aufnahm. Als Joséphine de Beauharnais das Bankhaus aufsuchte, führten Garlieb Helwigs Sohn Hieronymus Sillem (auch Jerôme genannt) und Conrad Matthiessen das Unternehmen. Während Hieronymus ein „Vollblut“-Kaufmann und -Banker war, widmete sich Conrad eher seinen schöngeistigen und politischen Interessen. Später kündigte er die Partnerschaft und verbrachte seinen Lebensabend als Wohltäter in Paris.
 
Joséphine in Hamburg

Aus dem historischen Roman "Die Kaiserin Joséphine" von Louise Mühlbach (1814-1873) (Wikipedia)

Zunächst unternahm sie (Joséphine) auf den Rat des Herrn Emery eine Reise nach Hamburg, um mit dem vermögenden und hoch angesehenen Bankhaus Matthiessen und Sillem einige Arrangements zu tätigen. Conrad Matthiessen, der Sohn des Gründers Hieronymus M., der eine Nichte der [skandalumwitterten!] Madame de Genlis geheiratet hatte, hatte allen Franzosen, die sich an ihn gewandt hatten, stets die allergrößte Gastfreundschaft gewährt und ihnen mit Rat und Tat zur Seite gestanden. An ihn wandte sich Joséphine auf Empfehlung des Herrn Emery, um eine sichere Möglichkeit zu erhalten, Briefschaften an ihre Mutter auf Martinique zu schicken, und auch, um von ihm Geldmittel zu empfangen, die aus Wechseln ihrer Mutter zu ziehen waren.

Herr Matthiessen begegnete ihren Wünschen großzügig und mit dem größten Vergnügen, und mit seiner Hilfe erlangte Joséphine eine hinreichende Summe Geldes, um sie vor weiteren Peinlichkeiten und Zukunftsängsten zu bewahren, zumindest bis ihre Mutter, die im Begriffe war, einen Teil ihrer Plantage zu verkaufen, ihr Geld schicken konnte.

Nach ihrer Rückkehr von der Geschäftsreise nach Hamburg war sie nicht mehr eine mittellose Witwe; sie faßte den mutigen Entschluß, ihren Zufluchtsort zu verlassen und in das gefährliche und ausgestorbene Paris zurückzukehren, um dort ihrem Sohn eine ehrenwerte Zukunft zu verschaffen und für eine Erziehung ihrer Tochter Sorge zu tragen, die ihrem Stand und ihren Fähigkeiten angemessen wäre.

(Quelle)


Über Joséphine de Beauharnais (Wikipedia)


 



©  Copyright 2012  Martin Sillem  -  Zuletzt bearbeitet 30. Oktober